Animation

Posted: May 9, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Horror

I was deep in the stacks of the First Metropolitan Library, reading at one of the tiny desks tucked away in some lost corner. My outrage at someone doodling in the corner of Sorendon’s Alchemy turned to a grudging amusement. As I quickly flipped backward to the table of contents a crude little stick figure animation became apparent. The stick man sat down at a desk with a book, question marks above his head, puzzling over the pages, just as I was now struggling with the strange mathematical formulas Sorendon had recorded over a century ago. Most amusing, and now – – now there was another stick man standing behind the one at the desk? This one had a knife. There was a sharp inhalation of breath behind me. I turned to look just as the stranger’s plunging blade pierced my right eye.

Comments
  1. Cleo says:

    I love these stories, subtle as well as creepy!.

Leave a Reply

