KAREN

Posted: March 9, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Horror

There was a little trail of carefully folded paper flowers leading down the hallway to my daughter’s room. She’s so clever! Toeing the door open I found one last paper blossom, bigger, different from the rest. I got down on one knee to retrieve it. I could see printing on it, legal looking stuff. Chuckling to myself, I unfolded it. It was a concealed carry license. The signature was scrawled in the appropriate blank with big, childish letters, KAREN. There was a thunderclap of noise. Something tore into my back, exploding out through my collar bone. I fell down and rolled onto my side. Karen was standing above me, wearing her Cookie Monster t-shirt, a gun I didn’t recognize heavy in her hand. She smiled and put the gun to my forehead.

Leave a Reply

